Documentation / Administrator Guide / Configuration / Advanced Settings

Advanced Settings

The Advanced Settings allow you do tweak and tune the way Staatic works.

Working Directory

While publishing the static version of your WordPress site, a copy of your dynamic WordPress site is crawled and converted into static files. These files will be stored within the work directory. Also depending on the Staatic features and deployment method you are using, other temporary files will be stored here.

By default the Working Directory is set to a sub directory of wp-uploads. Depending on filesystem permissions another directory may need to be chosen.

Page Not Found Path

This is the page that will be crawled to define the (404) page not found page.

By default the Page Not Found Path is set to /404_not_found/. If you have a specific 404 page on your dynamic WordPress site, e.g. /my_custom_404.html, then feel free to change the path here.

Network

At various stages during a publication Staatic will need to perform HTTP requests, e.g. to crawl your dynamic WordPress site or to query our API to enable form handling or search. These settings can be changed to improve publication performance as well as limit the load on your server.

HTTP Timeout

By default the HTTP Timeout is set to 60 seconds. This should work in most circumstances. If your experiencing problems, you can increase the value.

HTTP Delay

By default the HTTP Delay is set to 0 milliseconds. In case the value is set to anything above 0, requests will be delayed by this amount of milliseconds.

This can be used to decrease load on the server that hosts your dynamic WordPress site and can be useful on shared servers with multiple sites where the performance of other sites would otherwise be affected negatively.

HTTP Concurrency

By default the HTTP Concurrency is set to 4 concurrent HTTP request. In order to significantly increase the publication performance, you can increase this value.

Be careful not to set this value too high or it may negatively impact the overall server performance. Depending on the specifications of the server any value between 1 and 8 should be safe.

HTTP Authentication

If you are using HTTP (basic) authentication to restrict access to your dynamic WordPress installation, Staatic requires a valid username and password combination. Otherwise it is unable to crawl your dynamic site successfully.

Note: we highly recommend that you setup a dedicated account for Staatic. This is to prevent Staatic from failing when a regular user makes any changes to his/her username or password.

Username

The username for the HTTP authentication.

Password

The password for the HTTP authentication.

SSL Certificates

These settings describes the SSL certificate verification behavior of a request.

Verification

This setting describes the SSL certificate verification behavior of a request.

  • Set to “Enabled” to enable SSL certificate verification and use the default CA bundle provided by operating system.
  • Set to “Disabled” to disable certificate verification (this is insecure!).
  • Set to “Enabled using custom certificate” to provide the path to a CA bundle to enable verification using a custom certificate.

By default the SSL certificates Verification behavior is set to “Enabled“. If your server is using self signed certificates, either change its value to “Enabled using custom certificate” or “Disabled“.

Note: setting the value to “Disabled” disables SSL certificate verification completely and is insecure. Use with caution!

CA Bundle Path

This setting is only relevant in case “Verification” is set to “Enabled using custom certificate” and should be the path to the certificate, e.g. “/path/to/cert.pem“.

Plugin Uninstall

These settings allow you to change which data is deleted when uninstalling the Staatic plugin. If you want to uninstall the plugin and are not planning to reinstall the plugin at a later time, you can enable all options below.

Delete plugin settings

When enabled, this will make sure all of the plugin’s settings and options registered with WordPress are deleted when uninstalling the plugin.

Delete plugin data

When enabled, this will make sure all of the plugin’s database tables are deleted when uninstalling the plugin.

Note: The Working Directory needs to be deleted manually at the moment.